The Shofar School

The Diasporic Schools — Online

Made from a ram’s horn, the shofar is an instrument played at different moments in the Jewish calendar, and almost an iconic element in Judaism and among its diasporic communities. The very history of the shofar is linked to the need for communication from a distance: it was used to communicate between remote mountain villages, to warn of the sighting of the new moon and to mark the beginning of the new month. Its loud sound is also strongly bound up in the history of the diaspora, and the fact that in several circumstances and for centuries Jewish people risked their lives to exit the obligation of listening to the loud call of the shofar. The person who is able to blow the shofar is seen as one of the most honourable members of the community. However, both historically and nowadays, learning to play the shofar is subject to normative criteria, and although women are not prohibited from playing the instrument, it is an honour reserved for men. In her work, Yael Bartana explores the imagery of identity. She delves into the complexity of the Jewish diaspora and often confronts political and feminist issues by exploring rituals. In The Shofar School Bartana is creating an online platform to connect people in the Jewish diaspora, regardless of gender, to learn together how to blow the shofar; a learning process that becomes the pretext for sharing stories and redefining what a shared identity is today and what its limits are. Finally, the project reappropriates the idea of empowerment that was traditionally linked to blowing the shofar: for one month, a group of people in different parts of the world will simultaneously blow the horn as a collective call to challenge and reimagine new forms of identity. The Shofar School is taking place in parallel with a performance given by Bartana in Baden-Baden, in which a woman will play the shofar from a helicopter flying over the city.

Every Monday during the month of October, artist Yael Bartana brings together a group of 12 participants, based in different cities in the world, in The Shofar School. Through the learning of shofar, the participants collectively reflect on how ritual practices can be torn into political act. On the 01.11 at 16:00, Yael Bartana will present the results of The Shofar School on the occasion of the Public Programme.

Two minutes before midnight. On the work of Yael Bartana.

 By Joanna Warsza

“Jews! Fellow countrymen! People! (…) Return to Poland, to your country”: the speech delivered in Warsaw’s derelict communist stadium in Yael Bartana’s 2007 film Mary Koszmary (Nightmares) is a desperate cry for the reinvention of a lost eastern European cultural heterogeneity. This call by a leftist activist to the empty stands (perhaps sounding more topical then ever today) is both an expression of despair at the terror of homogeneity and the phantom pain of a lost culture, but also reflects a dire need for otherness. The speech to Jewish countrymen made in an eerie Warsaw stadium overgrown with weeds was in fact heard only by the Vietnamese, Ukrainian and Belorussian vendors trading in the upper section of the sports arena. They are the ones who ‘returned’ to Poland, the modern invisibles, the constructors of a new economy on the ruins of communism, and now actually counting in the millions. Bartana chose this multi-layered site as the setting for the first film in her trilogy And Europe Will be Stunned (2011), probably also because of the stadium’s foundations – it was erected in 1954-55 using rubble from a war-ruined Warsaw and especially from the remains of the Jewish Ghetto.  

This cinematic trilogy also led to the inauguration of Jewish Renaissance Movement in Poland and, as often in the works of Bartana, a coming-and-going between the art of representation and political reality in a form of an assembly taking place on stage. The artist convened the 1st congress of the JRMiP in May 2012 in HAU Berlin as part of the 7th Berlin Biennale. It was a testing ground of how to think the impossible: arranging the return of three million Jews to Poland with the help of Germany, Palestine and the international community. Highly risky, vulnerable and implausible, and yet there we were debating the interdependences and intricacies of memory and the present between Central Europe and the Middle East. The setting was a wild rehearsal of sorts, a training for the future, or what the theorist Olivier Marchart calls a pre-enactment. A pre-enactment is a form of art rehearsing for the unknown; it is a “pre-formance of a future political event”. A pre-enactment is also a temporary inversion of a re-enactment. Since – according to Marchart – it is impossible for us to directly enact the political because instead we are enacted by it, we can test and anticipate certain political conditions, with art being a perfect seismograph for it. Marchart notices that happenings first took place in an art field and only later in a political field, building up the protest vocabulary of 1968 or pointing to Occupy movements as heralding anxieties of the future.  

Bartana has also always been interested in the embodiment of the politics of memory and relations between a performance and a ritual, first happening mostly only once and second being repeated many times and occurring regularly according to a certain script. She tends to shift, reverse or re-contextualise those cultural ceremonies, as in the upcoming The Shofar School, where a community comes together digitally to practise the new use of the traditional horn instrument, which at various times in the Jewish calendar is usually only played by men. Back in 2013, inspired by the Israeli day of remembrance, Yom HaShoah, that commemorates victims and resistance fighters of the Holocaust with two minutes’ silence, Bartana proposed relocating this ceremony just for a day to the German city of Cologne as part of the Impulse Theater Biennale. A symbolic interruption of everyday life, Two Minutes of Standstill (2013) was mix of a social sculpture, a political intervention and a collective performance. Her proposition was not only to commemorate the dead, but to ask how newcomers and refugees, or mixed couples for example, can situate themselves in the plots of German history and their relationship with the present. How can it be commemorated without relativising, but also without exclusion? How can those who made Germany their home find a place in its memory culture, remembrance and responsibility? The project proved to highly controversial, stirring up a cocktail of emotions from left and right, as often with her works creating polarised views.  

In recent years Bartana has continued with another long-term project, What if Women Ruled the World (2016-), commissioned by Manchester International Festival, European Capital of Culture Aarhus 2017 and Volksbühne Berlin, with its itineration in Philadelphia, and now culminating in a film. A stage was turned into a meeting hall where an all-female government was debating in a version of the War Room from Stanley Kubrick’s 1964 film Dr Strangelove. However just changing the sex of the people in charge, and flipping the gendered reading of politics, was not Bartana’s main aim. This performative and discursive setting, half scripted, half documentary, was designed to question the very hegemonic construction of political structures, and offer ideas of what feminist, not necessarily female-only, governance looks like, where plurality, care, strategic weakness and vulnerability are the cards being played. It used the theatre setting to exercise the “force of nonviolence”, to quote the title of Judith Butler’s latest book.  

What if Women Ruled the World was also a funny, empowering but gloomy performance revealing the obvious, namely that women are still a marginalised group in politics, a counter-public excluded from the long process of formation of the European public sphere into which many of us were born or socialised. Not surprisingly, this documentary theatre piece-cum-installation, now a film Two Minutes to Midnight (2020), is both a political hallucination and a counter-proposal to heroic and masculine visions of political agency.  

On the same spring day in 2018 when Chris Dercon resigned as director of the Volksbühne, we saw one of the premieres of What if Women Ruled the World on the main stage. A circle of women in the think-tank assembly was guiding humanity away from the brink, two minutes before midnight. And suddenly during the applause it felt like toxic patriarchy is a dying species. Rituals are altered, identities shifted, powers weakened and The Shofar School will blow the horn. Is this art or reality, Yael?    

Joanna Warsza, October 2020

Joanna Warsza is independent curator and programme director of CuratorLab at Konstfack University. She was an associate curator of the 7th Berlin Biennale at which the 1st Congress of the Jewish Renaissance Movement in Poland was held.  

Bio

Yael Bartana is a visual artist born in Israel in 1970. Her films, installations and photographs explore the imagery of identity through political imagination. Taking as a starting point national consciousness and traditions, in her work she focuses on ceremonies, public rituals and social diversions that are intended to reaffirm the collective identity of the nation state. Bartana investigates these through the realisation of “pre-enactments” that comment on our reality by suggesting alternative presents and possible futures, juxtaposing real life and fiction, and confronting her audiences with their personal and collective responsibilities. Bartana represented Poland in the 54th International Art Exhibition in Venice (2011) with the trilogy And Europe Will Be Stunned. The trilogy was followed by major commissions realised across the globe, such as Inferno (2013), True Finn (2014) and Tashlikh (cast off, 2017). In recent years Bartana has been expanding her artistic practice and experimenting with various forms, such as sound, sculpture and theatre. Her latest work is the ongoing project What If Women Ruled the World (2016-) which combines fictional settings and real life participants, setting up a particular forum for action while exploring possible alternatives to a world dominated by men and traditional perception of power. The Undertaker (2019) and Two Minutes to Midnight (2020) both emerged from this survey.

Credits

Presentation: Kunstenfestivaldesarts

A project by: Yael Bartana
Participants: Annie Albagli, Harry Dukker, Thomas Lunderquist, Yarden Stern, Jeannine Dath, Gabriel Nahoum, Nikolay Karabinovych, Arthur Hirsch, David Bernstein, Solange Akierman, Katja Petrowskaja, Elisabeth Belisário
Shofar tacher: Miriam Camerini
Respondents: Wanda Nanibush, Banjamin Seroussi

A project initiated and coproduced by Kunstenfestivaldesarts in the frame of The Diasporic Schools
In collaboration with: Casa do Povo

The Shofar Schools

The Diasporic Schools — Online

Fabriqué à partir d'une corne de bélier, le shofar est un instrument joué à différents moments du calendrier juif, et presque un élément iconique du judaïsme et de ses communautés diasporiques. L'histoire même du shofar est liée à la nécessité de communiquer à distance. Il était en effet utilisé comme outil de transmission entre les villages de montagne éloignés pour annoncer l'observation de la nouvelle lune et du début du nouveau mois. Son bruit puissant est également étroitement lié à l'histoire de la diaspora, et au fait que, dans diverses circonstances et pendant des siècles, les Juifs ont risqué leur vie pour échapper à l'obligation d'écouter l'appel du shofar. La personne qui est capable de sonner le shofar est considérée comme l'un des membres les plus honorables de la communauté. De nos jours comme par le passé, l'apprentissage du shofar est cependant circonscrit par des critères très normatifs et, bien qu’il ne soit pas interdit aux femmes d’en jouer, c'est un honneur réservé aux hommes. A travers sa démarche artistique, Yael Bartana explore l'imagerie de l'identité. Elle sonde la complexité de la diaspora juive et confronte souvent les questions politiques et féministes à travers l'exploration des rituels. Avec The Shofar School, Bartana crée une plateforme en ligne pour mettre les personnes de la diaspora juive en relation, quel que soit leur sexe, et apprendre collectivement à sonner le shofar ; un processus d'apprentissage qui devient le prétexte pour partager des histoires et redéfinir ce qu'est une identité partagée aujourd'hui et quelles en sont les limites. Enfin, le projet se réapproprie l'idée d'autonomisation qui était traditionnellement liée au fait de sonner le shofar : pendant un mois, un groupe de personnes de différentes régions du monde soufflera simultanément le cor, comme un appel collectif à remettre en question et à réimaginer de nouvelles formes d'identité. En parallèle à The Shofar School se déroulera une performance que Bartana donnera à Baden-Baden, dans laquelle une femme sonnera le shofar depuis un hélicoptère survolant la ville.

Chaque lundi du mois d'octobre, The Shofar School réunit un groupe de 12 participant·e·s, basé·e·s dans différentes villes du monde, autour de l'artiste Yael Bartana. À travers l'apprentissage du shofar, les participant·e·s sont invité·e·s à réfléchir collectivement sur la manière dont on peut transformer une pratique rituelle en un acte politique. Un bilan de ce mois d'apprentissage et de réflexions sera présenté le 01.11 à 16:00 à l'occasion du Programme public.

Deux minutes avant minuit. À propos de l’œuvre de Yael Bartana. 

Par Joanna Warsza

« Juifs ! Concitoyens ! Les gens ! (...) Revenez en Pologne, votre pays ». Cet appel, lancé dans un stade communiste polonais délabré de Varsovie dans le film Mary Koszmary (Nightmares) de Yael Bartana (2007), résonne comme un cri désespéré pour réinventer l'hétérogénéité culturelle perdue en Europe orientale. Adressé par un activiste de gauche aux tribunes vides du stade (faisant peut-être plus que jamais écho à l'actualité), l’appel est à la fois l'expression du désespoir causé par une homogénéité anxiogène, celle d'une douleur fantôme laissée par une culture perdue mais aussi celle d'un profond besoin d’altérité. Dans cet étrange stade varsovien envahi par la végétation, ce ne sont pourtant pas les concitoyens juifs qui entendent l'appel, mais les vendeurs vietnamiens, ukrainiens et biélorusses y faisant commerce. Ce sont eux, ceux qui sont « revenus » en Pologne, les invisibles modernes, ceux qui ont bâti la nouvelle économie sur les ruines du communisme, et qui représentent aujourd'hui plusieurs millions de citoyens. Si Yael Bartana a précisément choisi ce site pour le premier volet de sa trilogie And the Europe Will be Stunned (2011), c'est sans doute aussi parce que ce stade fut érigé en 1954-55 sur les décombres d'une Varsovie dévastée par la guerre, et plus particulièrement sur les ruines du ghetto juif.  

Cette trilogie cinématographique est également à l'origine du Mouvement de la Renaissance juive en Pologne. Comme souvent dans son œuvre, Yael Bartana y propose un va-et-vient entre la représentation artistique et la réalité politique sous la forme d'une assemblée mise en scène. Les artistes se sont rencontrés à l'occasion du premier congrès du Mouvement de la Renaissance juive en mai 2012 au HAU de Berlin, dans le cadre de la 7e Biennale de Berlin. Il s'agissait d'imaginer l'impossible : organiser le retour de 3 millions de Juifs en Pologne, avec l'aide de l'Allemagne, de la Palestine et de la communauté internationale. Proposition très risquée, fragile et improbable, qui pourtant nous mit au travail et nous fit débattre des interdépendances et rapports entre le passé et le présent, entre l'Europe centrale et le Moyen Orient. Comme une espèce de répétition sauvage, un entraînement pour le futur ou pre-enactment, une pré-reconstitution, pour reprendre les termes du théoricien Olivier Marchart. qui désigne ainsi une manifestation artistique qui sert de répétition à l'inconnu, « la pré-reconstitution d'un événement politique futur » . Un pre-enactment est également une version temporaire d'un re-enactment, d'une reconstitution. Si, d'après Marchart, il nous est impossible de reconstituer directement le politique car c'est davantage nous qui sommes reconstitués par lui, nous pouvons cependant tester et anticiper certaines conditions politiques, en se servant de l'art qui en est un parfait sismographe. Olivier Marchart remarque d'ailleurs que certains événements se sont d'abord déroulés dans la sphère artistique et seulement ensuite dans le domaine politique, comme par exemple le vocabulaire contestataire de 1968. Il pointe également les mouvements d'occupation comme une prémonition des anxiétés du futur.   

Yael Bartana s'intéresse également à l'incarnation des politiques du souvenir et au rapport entre performance et rituel, soulignant le caractère ponctuel de la première et celui répétitif, régulier et s'accordant à un scénario établi pour le second. Elle se plaît à transformer, inverser ou recontextualiser ces cérémonies culturelles. Dans The Shofar School, une communauté se réunit de façon digitale pour expérimenter un nouvel usage du cor traditionnel joué jusque-là, selon les préceptes et le calendrier juifs, uniquement par des hommes. En 2013, Yael Bartana s'empara de la  « Journée du souvenir pour la Shoah et l’héroïsme », Yom HaShoah, qui célèbre la mémoire des victimes et des résistants de l'Holocaust par deux minutes de silence. Elle déplaça la cérémonie le temps d'une journée à Cologne en Allemagne, dans le cadre de la biennale Impulse Theater Festival, proposant ainsi une interruption symbolique de la vie quotidienne. Two Minutes of Standstill (2013) était à la fois une sculpture sociale, une intervention politique et une performance collective. Il ne s'agissait pas seulement de commémorer les morts, mais aussi de s'interroger sur la manière dont les nouveaux arrivants et étrangers, les couples mixtes par exemple, pouvaient se situer au sein de l'histoire allemande, et de réfléchir à leur rapport au présent. Comment commémorer sans relativiser, mais sans non plus exclure ? Quelle place peuvent trouver ceux qui ont choisi d'élire domicile en Allemagne dans sa culture du souvenir, de la mémoire et de la responsabilité ? Il en a résulté un projet très polémique, suscitant une foule d'émotions à la fois à droite et à gauche et révélant, comme le font souvent les œuvres de l’artiste, des points du vue clivants.  

Depuis plusieurs années, Yael Bartana travaille au projet What if Women Ruled the World (2016-), soutenu par le Manchester International Festival, La Capitale européenne de la Culture Aarhus 2017 et la Volksbühne à Berlin, avec un déplacement prévu à Philadelphie. Théâtre-installation, un gouvernement exclusivement féminin débat sur scène dans une salle de crise à l'image de celle imaginée par Kubrick dans Docteur Folamour en 1964. L'intention de Yael Bartana n'était cependant pas simplement de changer le sexe des décideurs et de renverser la lecture genrée de la politique. Cette mise en scène performative et discursive, mi-scénarisée et mi-documentaire, interroge aussi la construction hégémonique des structures politiques, et propose des pistes de réflexion sur ce que signifierait une gouvernance féministe – et pas forcément uniquement féminine –  où seraient jouées les cartes de la pluralité, du soin, de la faiblesse et d'une vulnérabilité stratégique. La forme théâtrale permet une mise en pratique de la « puissance de la non-violence » en référence à Du genre à la non-violence, le dernier livre de Judith Butler.  

À la fois drôle et émancipatrice, What if Women Ruled the World révèle aussi un côté sombre à travers cette évidence : aujourd'hui, les femmes sont toujours marginalisées politiquement et constituent un contre-public exclu des longs processus de construction de cette sphère publique européenne au sein de laquelle nombre d'entre nous sont né·e·s ou ont grandi. De cette installation-théâtre documentaire est né le film Two Minutes to Midnight (2020) qui, sans surprise, est à la fois une hallucination politique et une contre-proposition aux visions héroïques et masculines de l'agencement politique.   

C'est précisément le jour où Chris Dercon quittait la direction de la Volksbühne en 2018 que nous avons assisté à la première de What if Women Ruled the World sur la grande scène. Un cercle de femmes rassemblées dans un think tank guidait l’humanité pour, de justesse, l’éloigner du gouffre, deux minutes avant minuit, deux minutes avant la fin du monde. Et là, soudain, au moment d'applaudir, le patriarcat toxique nous a semblé être une espèce en voie d'extinction. Les rituels ont été modifiés, les identités déplacées, les pouvoirs affaiblis et c'est The Shofar School qui jouera dorénavant du cor. Alors, art ou réalité, Yael ?    

Joanna Warsza, octobre 2020  

Joanna Warsza est commissaire indépendante et directrice de programme du CuratorLab à l'Université de  Konstfack en Suède. Elle était commissaire associée de la 7e Biennale de Berlin, où s'est tenu le premier congrès du Mouvement de la Renaissance juive en Pologne.

Bio

Yael Bartana est une artiste visuelle née en Israël en 1970. Ses films, installations et photographies explorent l'imagerie de l'identité à travers l'imagination politique. Prenant comme point de départ la conscience et les traditions nationales, elle se concentre dans son travail sur les cérémonies, les rituels publics et les divertissements sociaux qui visent à réaffirmer l'identité collective de l'État-nation. Bartana les étudie à travers la réalisation de "pré-mises en scène" qui commentent notre réalité en suggérant des présents alternatifs et des futurs possibles, en juxtaposant la vie réelle et la fiction, et en confrontant ses spectateurs à leurs responsabilités personnelles et collectives. Bartana a représenté la Pologne à la 54e exposition internationale d'art à Venise (2011) avec la trilogie And Europe Will Be Stunned. La trilogie a été suivie d'importantes commandes réalisées dans le monde entier, telles que Inferno (2013), True Finn (2014) et Tashlikh (cast off, 2017). Ces dernières années, Bartana a élargi sa pratique artistique et expérimenté diverses formes telles que le son, la sculpture et le théâtre. Son dernier travail est le projet en cours What If Women Ruled the World (2016-) qui combine des décors fictifs et des participants réels, mettant en place un forum d'action particulier tout en explorant des alternatives possibles à un monde dominé par les hommes et la perception traditionnelle du pouvoir. The Undertaker (2019) et Two Minutes to Midnight (2020) sont tous deux issus de cette enquête.

Crédits

Présentation : Kunstenfestivaldesarts

Un projet de : Yael Bartana
Participant·e·s : Annie Albagli, Harry Dukker, Thomas Lunderquist, Yarden Stern, Jeannine Dath, Gabriel Nahoum, Nikolay Karabinovych, Arthur Hirsch, David Bernstein, Solange Akierman, Katja Petrowskaja, Elisabeth Belisário
Professeure de Shofar: Miriam Camerini
Correspondant·e·s : Wanda Nanibush, Banjamin Seroussi

Initié et coproduit par le Kunstenfestivaldesarts dans le cadre de The Diasporic Schools
En collaboration avec : Casa do Povo