The Ramallah Club Network

The Diasporic Schools — Brussels — Radio / Listening sessions

About The Ramallah Club Network

Samah Hijawi and Reem Shilleh took the Ramallah Clubs Network (of the Palestinian diaspora in the USA) as a starting point to reflect on the intricacies and complexities of the Palestianian diaspora and their manifestations. They will explore the experience of being in diaspora and exile and how this formulates one’s relationship to home and homeland. Often, members of the diaspora reconnect through community centres, festivals and events in order to continue their cultural practices, and keep the community connected. But beyond sharing food, dance and conversation, what intangible elements do these gatherings transmit? What are the other forms and tools that are used to understand this convoluted relationship between here and there? In the face of Palestine’s settler colonial reality how have they contributed to direct and indirect forms of resistance, narrative formations and acts of remembering?

In a series of conversations broadcast online on Radio Al Hara every Thursday of the month of October, Hijawi and Shilleh will be speaking with colleagues, artists, filmmakers, social activists, and friends from different geographies, whose work is connected to or influenced by their diasporic/exilic experience and desire to reconnect.  

Every Friday in October we will come together for a listening and reflection session at Lagrange Points, in Brussels.

Credits

Presentation: Kunstenfestivaldesarts-Radio Al-Hara-Lagrange Points

A project by: Samah Hijawi and Reem Shilleh

A project initiated and coproduced by Kunstenfestivaldesarts in the frame of The Diasporic Schools
Executive production: Kunstenwerkplaats

Broadcasted on Radio Al-Hara

Thursdays 01, 08, 15, 22.10
At 14:30

Listening sessions at Lagrange Points

Fridays 02, 09, 16, 23.10
At 18:30

Episode 1

01.10
Guests: Dries Douibi and Daniel Blanga Gubbay
Language: English

In the first episode of The Ramallah Club Network, Samah Hijawi and Reem Shilleh are speaking with the artistic directors of the Kunstenfestivaldesarts about the concept of The Diasporic Schools and their own origins.

Episode 2

08.10
Guest: Michel Khleifi
Language: Arabic

In the second episode of The Ramallah Club Network, Samah Hijawi and Reem Shilleh are in conversation with the filmmaker Michel Khleifi about memory, collective and personal, its relationship to where we are geographically and his work, particularly his 1985 film Maaloul Celebrates Its Destruction.

Episode 3

15.10
Guest: Basma Alsharif
Language: English

In the third episode of The Ramallah Club Network, Samah Hijawi and Reem Shilleh are in conversation with the artist Basma Alsharif about their earliest memories and how shifting locations influences their invocation; about distance and image, and about Basma Alsharif's video and writing works, Gaza, metaphors and much more.

Accompanying this episode, Basma Alsharif's incredibly unique We Began By Measuring Distance (2009) will be streaming online from October 15-18.

Episode 4

22.10
Guests: Rasha Salti and Kristine Khouri
Language: English

In the fourth conversation of the The Ramallah Club Network Reem Shilleh and Samah Hijawi are speaking with Rasha Salti and Kristine Khouri about the complex relationship between the diaspora and solidarity networks in the 1970’s that were built around, through and beyond the Palestinian struggle for liberation. Rasha and Kristine are curators of the documentary and archival exhibition Past Disquiet in its multiple iterations, which is based on their extensive research of the art and exhibition making in the 1960's and 1970's that exist well outside the canon, and namely the 1978 International Art Exhibition for Palestine, a number of museums in exile, Chilean and South African amongst others.

Bios

Samah Hijawi and Reem Shilleh

Samah Hijawi is an artist and researcher currently doing her PhD in Art Practice at Université Libre de Bruxelles and the Académie Royale Des Beaux Art de Bruxelles, in Belgium. In her multi-media works she is exploring the aesthetics of representation in artworks that allude to the histories of Palestine. Her works have been shown in The Royal Museums of Fine Arts of Belgium, Museum M, The Hayward Gallery, BOZAR, Beurscchouwburg, Bureau Europa, MoMa, Apex Art, Darat al Funun, among others. She previously collaborated with Ola El-Khalidi and Diala Khasawneh in directing Makan Art Space (2003-2016), an independent space for contemporary art in Amman. And together with Shuruq Harb and Toleen Touq she co-curated the platform The River has Two Banks (2012-2017), initiated to address the growing distance between Jordan and Palestine.

Reem Shilleh is researcher, curator, editor, and on occasion writer. She lives and works in Brussels and Ramallah. Reem Shilleh’s practice is informed by a long research project on militant and revolutionary image practices in Palestine, its diaspora, and solidarity network. Some of her recent projects are the curated film program The Space Between: The Invocation (MMAG Foundation, Amman, 2019), the research exhibition series Desires into Fossils: Monuments Without a State (Khalil Sakakini Cultural Center, Ramallah, 2017), and the curated film collage, commissioned by A. M. Qattan Foundation, Perpetual Recurrences (Qalandiya International, Ramallah, 2016). She is also Co-Founder of Subversive Film, a curatorial and research collective formed in 2011 that casts new light upon historic works related to Palestine and the region; engenders support for film preservation; and investigates archival practices, its effects and reverberations on imaginations. Reem Shilleh is a recipient of the BAK Fellowship for 2019-2020.

Listening sessions at Lagrange Points

The Ramallah Club Network

The Diasporic Schools — Brussels — Radio / Listening sessions

À propos de The Ramallah Club Network

Samah Hijawi et Reem Shilleh prennent le Ramallah Clubs Network (de la diaspora palestinienne aux États-Unis) comme point de départ à une réflexion sur les particularités et les complexités de la diaspora palestinienne et de ses manifestations. Elles font l’expérience de l’exil et de la reconfiguration des rapports entre pays d'origine et lieu de vie qui l’accompagne. Bien souvent les membres des communautés diasporiques retissent des liens par le biais de centres communautaires, de festivals et d'événements qui leur permettent de perpétuer leurs pratiques culturelles et de garder la communauté soudée. Mais au-delà de partager un repas, une danse ou une conversation, quels éléments intangibles ces rassemblements véhiculent-ils ? Quelles sont les autres formes et les autres outils qui permettent de comprendre la relation complexe qui s'établit entre l’ici et le là-bas ? Au regard de la réalité coloniale en Palestine, comment ces dispositifs contribuent-ils aux formes directes et indirectes de résistance, à la formation de nouveaux récits et aux actes de mémoire ?  

À travers une série de conversations diffusée en ligne sur Radio Al-Hara chaque jeudi du mois d’octobre, Samah Hijawi et Reem Shilleh s’entretiennent avec des collègues, des artistes, des réalisateurs, des militants et des amis, venus de tous horizons, entretenant un lien avec leur expérience de la diaspora et de l’exil, mais aussi avec leur désir de reconnexion.  

Chaque vendredi d'octobre nous nous réunirons à Lagrange Points, à Bruxelles, pour une session d’écoute et de réflexion.

Crédits

Présentation : Kunstenfestivaldesarts-Radio Al-Hara-Lagrange Points

Un projet de : Samah Hijawi et Reem Shilleh

Initié et coproduit par le Kunstenfestivaldesarts dans le cadre de The Diasporic Schools
Production exécutive : Kunstenwerkplaats

Diffusions sur Radio Al-Hara

Les jeudis 01, 08, 15, 22.10
À 14:30

Sessions d'écoute à Lagrange Points

Les vendredis 02, 09, 16, 23.10
À 18:30

Épisode 1

01.10
Invités : Dries Douibi et Daniel Blanga Gubbay
Langue : Anglais

Pour commencer la série de podcast de The Ramallah Club Network, Samah Hijawi et Reem Shilleh s'entretiennent avec les directeurs artistiques du Kunstenfestivaldesarts, Dries Douibi et Daniel Blanga Gubbay, à propos du concept de The Diasporic Schools et de leurs propres origines.

Épisode 2

08.10
Invité : Michel Khleifi
Langue : Arabe

Dans le second épisode de The Ramallah Club Network, Samah Hijawi et Reem Shilleh abordent avec le réalisateur Michel Khleifi la notion de mémoire, aussi bien personnelle que collective, et sa relation avec notre le lieu où nous nous trouvons. La conversation aborde aussi son travail cinématographique, et plus spécifiquement son film de 1985 Maaloul Celebrates Its Destruction.

Épisode 3

15.10
Invitée : Basma Alsharif
Langue : Anglais

Pour le troisième épisode de The Ramallah Club Network, Samah Hijawi et Reem Shilleh rencontrent l’artiste Basma Alsharif. Ensemble, elles évoquent leurs tous premiers souvenirs et s’interrogent sur l'influence que peut avoir la déterritorialisation sur leur évocation. Il est question d’image et de distance, du travail vidéographique et d’écriture de Basma Alsharif, de Gaza, de métaphores et de bien d’autres choses.  

Pour compléter cet épisode, la vidéo de Basma Alsharif We Began By Measuring Distance (2009) est diffusée du 15 au 18 octobre.

Épisode 4

22.10
Invitée : Rasha Salti et Kristine Khouri
Langue : Anglais

Dans cette quatrième conversation de The Ramallah Club Network Reem Shilleh and Samah Hijawi s’entretiennent avec Rasha Salti et Kristine Khouri à propos des relations complexes entre la diaspora et les réseaux de solidarité des années 1970 qui se sont construits autour, à travers et au-delà de la lutte pour la libération de la Palestine. Rasha Salti et Kristine Khouri sont les commissaires du documentaire et de l’exposition archivistique Past Disquiet, qui a connu différentes occurrences. Ce projet est basé sur leurs recherches à propos de l’art et des expositions produites en dehors des canons esthétiques en vigueur dans les années 1960 et 1970, et plus particulièrement sur l’International Art Exhibition for Palestine de 1978, ainsi que sur un certain nombre de musées en exil, chiliens et Sud-Africains notamment.

Bios

Samah Hijawi et Reem Shilleh

Samah Hijawi est artiste et chercheuse. Elle prépare actuellement un doctorat en pratique artistique à l'Université Libre de Bruxelles et à l'Académie Royale des Beaux-Arts de Bruxelles, en Belgique. Dans ses œuvres multimédias, elle explore l'esthétique de la représentation dans des œuvres d'art qui font allusion à l'histoire de la Palestine. Ses travaux ont été exposés aux Musées royaux des Beaux-Arts de Belgique, au Musée M, à la Hayward Gallery, à BOZAR, au Beurscchouwburg, au Bureau Europa, au MoMa, à Apex Art, à Darat al Funun, entre autres. Elle a précédemment collaboré avec Ola El-Khalidi et Diala Khasawneh à la direction de Makan Art Space (2003-2016), un espace indépendant d'art contemporain à Amman. Avec Shuruq Harb et Toleen Touq, elle a assuré la codirection artistique de la plateforme The River has Two Banks (2012-2017), lancée pour répondre à la distance croissante entre la Jordanie et la Palestine.

Reem Shilleh est chercheuse, curatrice, éditrice et, à l'occasion, écrivaine. Elle vit et travaille à Bruxelles et à Ramallah. La pratique de Reem Shilleh s'appuie sur un long projet de recherche sur les pratiques d'image militantes et révolutionnaires en Palestine, sa diaspora et son réseau de solidarité. Parmi ses projets récents, on peut citer le programme de cinéma The Space Between : The Invocation (Fondation MMAG, Amman, 2019), la série d'expositions de recherche Desires into Fossils : Monuments Without a State (Khalil Sakakini Cultural Center, Ramallah, 2017), et le collage filmique commandé par la Fondation A. M. Qattan, Perpetual Recurrences (Qalandiya International, Ramallah, 2016). Elle est également co-fondatrice de Subversive Film, un collectif de conservation et de recherche formé en 2011 qui jette un nouvel éclairage sur les œuvres historiques liées à la Palestine et à la région, initie un soutien à la préservation des films et étudie les pratiques archivistiques, ses effets sur les imaginaires et les réverbérations qu’elles suscitent. Reem Shilleh est lauréate de la bourse BAK pour 2019-2020.

Sessions d'écoute à Lagrange Points