École du soir

The Diasporic Schools — Online

In May 2019, Christian Nyampeta was part of our first Free School with École du soir / The Poet School, a study programme about writing and visualising intellectual histories, drawing from the lives and afterlives of the Belgian colonial empire in Rwanda, East Africa and Belgium. For The Diasporic Schools he invites a group of fellow researchers to continue this work by focusing on the complex history of Rwanda. The participants will desediment and subjectify its memories by making a timeline of their own lives and linking these sociographic events to the extended history of Rwanda, a part of which has been written in the wake of the genocide against the Tutsi in 1994 when the search for peace and reconciliation required one uniting narrative. Through overviewing works in literature, music, theatre and cinema, this iteration of École du soir locates artistic models that honour and respect this acute social need and still approach history not only as a fixed record of the past but also as a process of cultural assemblage.

Every Saturday during the month of October École du soir brings together a group of participants to rewrite the history of Rwanda. Each weekly gathering is prepared around an aspect of the Rwandan culture, in the specific context and history of Rwanda and takes the form of a discussion and a collective writing process. The results of École du soir will be presented on the 31.10 at 16:00 on the occasion of the Public Programme.

Bio

Artist Christian Nyampeta (born 1981) organises programmes, exhibitions, screenings, performances, pedagogical experiments and publications, conceived as hosting structures for collective feeling, cooperative thinking, and mutual action, with the support of and alongside a chorus of fellow artists, institutions, and networks. Recent activities include collective iterations of École du soir at SculptureCenter in New York, at e-flux Film & Video, and at Keleketla! Library alongside other spaces of learning and sites of knowledge production and speculation in Johannesburg. Nyampeta was awarded The Art Prize Future of Europe 2019 at the Museum of Contemporary Art GfZK in Leipzig, and the European Union Prize at the 12th Bamako Encounters—African Biennial of Photography.

Credits

Presentation: Kunstenfestivaldesarts

A project by: Christian Nyampeta

A project coproduced by Kunstenfestivaldesarts in the frame of The Diasporic Schools

École du soir

The Diasporic Schools — Online

En mai 2019, Christian Nyampeta a fait partie de la première Free School du Kunstenfestivaldesarts avec École du soir / The Poet School, un programme d'étude sur l'écriture et la visualisation d'histoires intellectuelles directement inspiré par les récits de l'avant et de l'après Empire colonial belge au Rwanda, en Afrique de l’Est et en Belgique. Pour The Diasporic Schools, il invite un groupe de chercheurs qui lui sont fidèles à poursuivre ce travail en se concentrant sur l'histoire récente, aussi complexe que chargée, du Rwanda. Les participants réactualiseront et subjectiveront cette mémoire en réalisant une chronologie de leur propre vie et en reliant ces événements sociologiques à une histoire complète du pays, incluant la partie écrite au lendemain du génocide des Tutsis de 1994. Cette dernière écriture a été établie au moment où la recherche de la paix et de la réconciliation rendait primordial le besoin d'un récit prônant l'unité. À travers ce travail de réécriture littéraire, musical, théâtral et cinématographique, ce nouvel opus d'École du soir fait appel à des formes artistiques pour honorer et respecter ce besoin social impératif et pour aborder l'histoire, non seulement en tant que moyen de fixer le passé, mais aussi en tant que processus social de mise en commun.

Chaque samedi du mois d'octobre, École du soir réunit un groupe de participant·e·s autour d'un travail de réécriture de l'histoire du Rwanda. Chaque réunion aborde une facette de la culture et du contexte rwandais sous la forme d'une discussion et d'une écriture collective. Les résultats de ce processus sera dévoilé le 31.10 à 16:00 à l'occasion du Programme public.

Bio

L'artiste Christian Nyampeta (né en 1981) articule un corpus d'expositions, de projections, de performances, d’expériences pédagogiques et de publications qu'il conçoit comme des structures d’accueil pour l’expression de sentiments collectifs, de réflexions participatives et d’actions communes. Son travail s'appuie, est rendu possible et est montré grâce à des artistes, des institutions et des réseaux qui lui sont fidèles. Ses activités récentes comprennent les différentes occurrences collectives d’École du soir au SculptureCenter de New York, à e-flux Film & Video et à la Keleketla! Library, en parallèle d’autres lieux de savoir, de réflexion et d’apprentissage à Johannesbourg. Nyampeta a été récompensé par l’Art Prize Future of Europe 2019 au Museum of Contemporary Art GfZK à Leipzig, et l’European Union Prize à la 12th Bamako Encounters—African Biennial of Photography.

Crédits

Présentation : Kunstenfestivaldesarts

Un projet de : Christian Nyampeta

Coproduit par le Kunstenfestivaldesarts dans le cadre de The Diasporic Schools