An Audio Family Album

The Diasporic Schools — Online

For two decades, Bouchra Khalili’s work has articulated contemporary migratory trajectories, colonial continuum, and the politics of memory of internationalist struggles and collective emancipation. Through this she investigates new forms of belonging that are freed from the models of citizenship imposed by the nation-state model as it was built in the West. For this project conceived for The Diasporic Schools, Bouchra Khalili starts from the legacy of Al Assifa, a theatre group active between 1972 and 1978 that consisted of a group of North African workers – all born colonised – and their French student allies, and whose shows were mainly performed in striking factories and community spaces. Al Assifa also published a newspaper, Al Assifa: The Voice of Arab Workers. Al Assifa were the subjects of Khalili’s The Tempest Society, a video installation (documenta 14, 2017) and publication (Bookworks, London, 2019)., featuring articles and news about anti-colonial and immigration struggles. In those years, members of the group used to read the newspaper in Arab cafes in Paris to allow illiterate members of the community to access the information as well; audio cassettes were also used to circulate this content among Maghreb-descendent communities in several French cities, reaffirming oral narration as a powerful practice of resistance to the official discourse and to dominant knowledge.  In An Audio Family Album, Bouchra Khalili continues her investigation of Al Assifa’s methodology based on the dying tradition of Al-halqa, the oldest performing art in North Africa. Collaborating with a younger generation of members of the same communities living nowadays in Europe, she proposes an online archive of voices, bringing together stories of emancipation that have helped shape the memories and contemporary strategies of diaspora struggles and that, through this process, are passed on from one generation to the next. Across geographies and generations, these stories form a collective family album where, as in the Al-halqa tradition, the voices embody the living and nomadic memory of people’s struggles for collective emancipation.

Releases on

26.10
Capsules 1 and 2

27.10
Capsules 3 and 4

28.10
Capsules 5 and 6

29.10
Capsules 7 and 8

Public programme

Bouchra Khalili will talk about An Audio Family Album on the 31.10 in the frame of the Public programme

An Audio Family Album
On the figuration of the civic poet as hlayqi·a

By Joachim Ben Yakoub

Bouchra Khalili’s proposition for The Diasporic Schools at the Kunstenfestivaldesarts 2020 begins with a series of individual encounters with members of a new generation of Maghrebi artists and activists in Brussels, later to be complemented with moments of contact in other European cities. Out of the relations shaping these meetings and conversations, she is forming a living online family album of voices, re-establishing stories of resistance and repairing memories of rebellion. In her search for the meaning of voices produced by the persistence of history resonating and echoing in the present, to paraphrase Khalili, she decided to close her eyes and listen to the murmurs circulating and resonating in the diasporic al-halqa of Brussels. To convey these family stories to her audience, Khalili returns to the collaborative methods of her previous work, reconsidering the figuration of the civic poet as hlayqi·a. 

The title of her 2017 video installation, The Tempest Society, is not a reference to Shakespeare’s last seminal play or to Aimé Césaire’s critical adaptation, but rather to the legacy of Al Assifa, a self-organised autonomous theatre company created in 1973 by Maghrebi workers, partisans of the Arab Workers’ Movement in Paris. Both the journal of the movement and the theatre company were named after the armed revolutionary wing of Fatah, Yasser Arafat’s Palestinian National Liberation Movement, highlighting the workers’ allegiance to their origins in the French Palestine Committees since 1967. The group engaged in new forms of improvised action theatre and agitprop, playing during factory strikes and in community spaces and occupied public squares. Simultaneously, they were active in a variety of demonstrations against rampant racism and police violence, and in defence of dignified working conditions, continuously acting in a spirit of internationalist solidarity. In the constructed narrative of The Tempest Society, stories of anti-colonial struggle and internationalism intertwine with tales of civic becoming.  

For An Audio Family Album Khalili re-established a precise link, not so much with the heritage of Al Assifa at large, but with the various ways in which Al Assifa created the conditions for stories and information to circulate in the diaspora. In response to low literacy levels among Arab workers in Paris at the time, some of the members of Al Assifa chose to read aloud the most important news items from the daily newspaper in cafés where workers congregated. The group also set up Radio Assifa and distributed cassette recordings of their chronicles to keep the community up to date on the state of affairs of different social and political conflicts and mobilisations. Most importantly, Al Assifa revived the endangered form of al-halqa, once a widespread and subversive performing art in the Maghreb, in order to reflect on the ambiguity of the power relations shaping current events around them, in particular the racist murder of the young Djellali Ben Ali or the murder of Mohamed Diab at the hands of the police. In al-halqa – to paraphrase Phillipe Tancelin, one of Al Assifa’s founder members – the storyteller does not have the authority of the author; as the conveyor of a collective and historical discourse, he or she is subjected to real and equal questioning by the public and can thus be challenged by the audience at any moment during any public performance. 

The re-emergence of al-halqa as a circular performative form in the diasporic context of the Arab workers’ movements in Paris in the 1970s is intricately linked to the various ways in which the anti-colonial struggle seeped through the Maghrebi theatre landscape, in which discussions arose about different strategies to decolonise the dramatic repertoire and its canon. The return of both the device of the storyteller (hlayqi/hlayqia) and the circular arrangement of the performance made space for hybrid theatrical forms traversed by fantastic, mythical and historical tales, with characters and figures anchored in the translocal histories of the Maghreb, and theatrical modalities borrowed from Amazigh and Islamic traditions, as well as Brechtian aesthetics and documentary theatre. This hybridisation strongly influenced the work of a new movement of theatre makers, represented by figures such as Kateb Yacine, Abdelkader Alloula and Tayeb Saddiki, each of whom, in their own way, combined different performative approaches with popular forms, wielding experimental and politically engaged poetics with a certain sense of ceremoniality. The circulation of vital energy inside al-halqa rendered theatre a sensitive experience again, repairing life and its reverse in its most vulnerable form in the fleeting process of world-making. Theatre regained its function as a distant, interactive but always critical mirror, questioning and subverting what can be said or heard and what should remain silenced, reconsidering what is visible and what is indiscernible, and reinstating the oral narrative as a powerful from of resistance to hegemonic discourse and ways of knowing and sensing the world.

In An Audio Family Album, Bouchra Khalili relates to the endangered circular form of al-halqa central to Al Assifa’s practice to rearticulate the uncanny intricacies of diasporic family stories. In doing so, she taps into the contemporary need to tell forgotten stories of resistance and liberation, but also to generate new oral forms, and through these forms reinvent new tales and myths. Together they have the potential to constitute what Stuart Hall calls a living archive or, in this case, a living family album. Through their performed orality, the family stories told in al-halqa remain in a permanent state of suspension. Like diaspora itself, the animated form of al-halqa is inherently unstable, nomadic and always moving in different directions, so the family stories told and the relations formed never fully crystallise, surpassing the scriptocentric limits of the written world. By doing so Khalili holds space for the possible resurgence or re-emergence of silenced and erased memories, to re-world the divided world we inhabit today. 

In The Tempest Society Khalili invited three different Athenian students to summon the presence of the Al Assifa group through their own first-hand diasporic experiences of racism and xenophobia, alternated with readings of Al Assifa’s manifesto Les Tiers-Idées (1997) and selected excerpts of the novel My Name is Europe by Gazmend Kapllani. In her proposal for The Diasporic Schools, however, Khalili invites a new generation of Maghrebi artists and activists to read exhumed family stories of liberation that have influenced their past and retain the potential to inspire current forms of diasporic resistance, all the while becoming part of a newly constituted family album. Inspired by the legacy of Pier Paolo Pasolini, Khalili calls on these artists and activists to embody the figuration of the civil poet as hlayqi·a, oscillating through free indirect speech in an intertextual play between historical citations and personal narratives, speaking through concerned and involved individuals to re-assemble and render audible a conversant collective voice. Not giving voice to, but speaking nearby those who are absent or silenced in order to bear witness to the various ways historical injustices can be continuously resisted. Going beyond the representational restriction of time and space in the fabulation of a family album, a people to come is invented that prefigures a world to come, where the diasporic would a priori be inscribed in every school, remembering the ancestral lineage of resistance that made a free and dignified life possible.

Text written by Joachim Ben Yakoub in October 2020, in the frame of The Diasporic Schools of the Kunstenfestivaldesarts

Bio

Bouchra Khalili is a Moroccan-born (1975, Casablanca) and Berlin-based artist. She studied Film History at Sorbonne Nouvelle and Visual Arts at the École Nationale Supérieure d'Arts de Paris. Encompassing film, video, installation, photography, printmaking, and publishing, Khalili's practice explores imperial and colonial continuums as epitomized by contemporary forced illegal migrations and the politics of memory of anti-colonial struggles and international solidarity. At the intersection of history and micro-narratives, her work combines documentary strategies and conceptual practice to investigate questions of self-representation, autonomous agency, and forms of resistance of suppressed communities. Deeply informed by the legacy of post-independence avant-gardes and the vernacular traditions of her native Morocco, Khalili's approach combine performative strategies of storytelling and the old tradition of Northern Africa storytelling to develops civic platforms for first person accounts eventually forming collective stories of resistance and emancipation. Khalili's work has been subject to numerous solo exhibitions, such as at Museum of Fine Arts (Boston), Museum Folkwang (Essen), Jeu de Paume (Paris), MAXXI Museum (Roma), Museum of Modern Art (New York). She also participated to several international exhibitions such as at the 12th Bamako Biennial, BienalSur (Buenos Aires), Documenta 14th Kassel, 55th Venice Biennale, among others. As a cultural activist, she’s a co-founder of the Cinémathèque de Tanger, Northern Morocco's first cultural center dedicated to the preservation and promotion of film culture in the region.

Credits

Presentation: Kunstenfestivaldesarts-Bouchra Khalili

A project by: Bouchra Khalili

A project initiated and coproduced by Kunstenfestivaldesarts in the frame of The Diasporic Schools

An Audio Family Album

The Diasporic Schools — Online

Depuis deux décennies, le travail de Bouchra Khalili articule les trajectoires migratoires contemporaines, le continuum colonial et la politique de mémoire des luttes internationalistes et d'émancipation collective. Elle explore ainsi de nouvelles formes d'appartenance débarrassées des modèles de citoyenneté imposés par le modèle de l'État-nation, tel qu'il s'est construit en Occident. Pour ce projet, conçu pour The Diasporic Schools, Bouchra Khalili part de l'héritage d'Al Assifa, une troupe de théâtre active entre 1972 et 1978, composée d'un groupe d'ouvriers nord-africains – tous nés colonisés – et de leurs allié·e·s étudiant·e·s français·es, et dont les spectacles ont été principalement joués dans des usines en grève et des espaces communautaires. Al Assifa a également publié un journal, Al Assifa: The Voice of Arab Workers, avec des articles et des nouvelles sur les luttes anticoloniales et d'immigration. Dans ces années-là, les membres du groupe avaient l'habitude de faire la lecture du journal dans des cafés arabes à Paris pour permettre aux membres illettrés de la communauté d'accéder à l'information ; des cassettes audio étaient également utilisées pour faire circuler ce contenu parmi les communautés d'origine maghrébine dans plusieurs villes françaises, réaffirmant ainsi que la narration orale est une pratique puissante de résistance au discours officiel et au savoir dominant. Al Assifa a fait l'objet de l’œuvre de Khalili The Tempest Society, une installation vidéo présentée à la documenta 14 (2017) et d'une publication de l'artiste (Bookworks, Londres, 2019). Avec An Audio Family Album, Bouchra Khalili poursuit son enquête sur la méthodologie d'Al Assifa, basée sur la tradition mourante d'Al-Halqa, la plus ancienne forme d'art de la performance en Afrique du Nord. En collaboration avec une jeune génération de membres des mêmes communautés vivant aujourd'hui en Europe, elle propose une archive en ligne des voix, rassemblant les histoires d'émancipations qui ont contribué à façonner les mémoires et les stratégies contemporaines des luttes de la diaspora et qui, par ce processus, sont transmises d'une génération à l'autre. À travers les géographies et les générations, ces histoires forment un album de famille collectif, où, comme dans la tradition d'Al-Halqa, les voix incarnent la mémoire vivante et nomade des luttes pour l'émancipation.

Sorties les

26.10
Capsules 1 et 2

27.10
Capsules 3 et 4

28.10
Capsules 5 et 6

29.10
Capsules 7 et 8

Programme public

Bouchra Khalili parlera de son projet An Audio Family Album le 31.10 dans le cadre du Programme public.

An Audio Family Album
La figuration du poète-civique comme hlayqi·a

 par Joachim Ben Yakoub 

La proposition de Bouchra Khalili pour The Diasporic Schools du Kunstenfestivaldesarts commence par une série de rencontres avec une nouvelle génération d’artistes et d’activistes maghrébin·e·s installé·e·s à Bruxelles. Elles seront ensuite complétées par des échanges avec d’autres villes européennes. Les relations qui se noueront lors de ces rencontres seront rassemblées dans un album de famille vivant et en ligne, réunissant des voix qui rétablissent les histoires de résistance et réparent la mémoire des luttes. Dans sa recherche du sens de ces voix qui, par la persistance de l’histoire, réverbèrent et résonnent subitement dans le présent, pour paraphraser Khalili, elle a décidé de fermer les yeux et d’écouter le murmure qui circule et résonne dans al-hlaqa de la diaspora bruxelloise. Pour faire parvenir ces histoires de famille jusqu’au public, elle s’appuie sur des dispositifs collaboratifs mis en place dans ses œuvres précédentes, et repense la figuration du poète-civique comme hlayqi·a.  

Le titre de son installation vidéo The Tempest Society (2017) ne renvoie pas à la dernière pièce majeure de Shakespeare ni à l’adaptation critique qu’en a fait Aimé Césaire, mais à l’héritage d’Al-Assifa, un groupe de théâtre autonome créée en 1973 par des travailleurs maghrébins, partisans du Mouvement des Travailleurs Arabes à Paris. Le journal et le théâtre furent nommés d’après le bras révolutionnaire armé du Fatah, le Mouvement de libération de la Palestine de Yasser Arafat, faisant référence à l’allégeance de ces groupements autonomes de travailleurs à leurs origines au sein des comités palestiniens français dès 1967. Le groupe s’exprimait à travers de nouvelles formes de théâtre-action et agitprop improvisés, se produisant lors de grèves dans les usines, et dans les espaces communautaires et places publics occupés. Parallèlement, ils participaient à de nombreuses manifestations, contre le racisme endémique et les violences policières, et en faveur de la défense de la dignité des conditions de travail, dans un esprit de solidarité internationale permanent. Dans The Tempest Society, les récits de lutte anticoloniale et d’internationalisme s’entremêlent avec des histoires de devenir-civique.  

Dans An Audio Family Album, Bouchra Khalili rétablit un lien précis, pas tant avec Al-Assifa en tant que tel, mais avec les nombreuses façons dont les conditions mis en place par ce mouvement ont permis aux récits et à l’information de circuler au sein de la diaspora. Pour pallier au faible taux d’alphabétisation des travailleurs arabes à Paris à l'époque, les membres d’Al-Assifa lisaient à voix haute des extraits des journaux dans les cafés où se réunissaient les travailleurs. Le groupe créa également Radio Assifa, et distribuait des enregistrements sur cassette de ses chroniques afin de maintenir la population au fait des différents conflits et mobilisations sociales et politiques. Mais surtout Al-Assifa raviva l'al-halqa, une forme en voie de disparition après avoir été une pratique artistique performative subversive très répandue au Maghreb, pour dénoncer l’ambiguïté des rapports de force à l’origine d’événements marquants,  et plus précisément le meurtre raciste du jeune Djellali Ben Ali, ou encore celui de Mohamed Diab par la police. Dans l'al-halqa – selon les termes de Phillipe Tancelin, l’un des membres fondateurs d’Al-Assifa – le conteur ou la conteuse n’a pas l’autorité d’auteur·trice. En tant que messager·ère d’un discours collectif et historique, il·elle est soumis·e à des interpellations publiques réelles et égales, et peut donc être contesté·e par le public à tout moment lors d’une performance.  

La réapparition de l'al-halqa comme format performatif circulaire au sein de la diaspora regroupée dans le Mouvement des Travailleurs Arabes dans le Paris des années 1970 est intimement liée à la diffusion de la lutte anticoloniale au sein du monde du théâtre maghrébin, où surgissaient des discussions sur les stratégies à envisager pour décoloniser le répertoire et son canon. La réapparition du conteur/de la conteuse (hlayqi/hlayqia) et de la disposition circulaire de la performance facilitait l’émergence de formes théâtrales hybrides, avec des personnages et figures puisés dans les histoires multiples et translocales du Maghreb, et des modalités théâtrales empruntées aux traditions amazighe et islamique ou encore à l’esthétique et au théâtre documentaire brechtiens. Cette hybridation a fortement marqué un nouveau mouvement d’auteurs·trices de théâtre, représenté notamment par Kateb Yacine, Abdelkader Alloula ou encore Tayeb Saddiki qui, chacun·e à leur manière, ont combiné des approches performatives avec des formats populaires, mélangeant des formes poétiques expérimentales et politiquement engagées avec un sens certain de cérémonialité. La circulation de l’énergie vitale dans l'al-hlaqa remodelait le théâtre, pour en refaire de nouveau une expérience sensible, réparatrice de la vie et de son revers, dans sa forme la plus vulnérable, à travers le processus fugace de création de mondes. Le théâtre retrouvait sa fonction de miroir distant et interactif mais toujours critique, interrogeant et bouleversant ce qui est dit ou entendu et ce qui devrait être tu, revenant sur le visible et l’indiscernable, et réinstaurant la narration orale comme force de résistante puissante contre l’hégémonie de discours et de façons d’appréhender et de sentir le monde.  

Dans An Audio Family Album, Bouchra Khalili se rapporte à l'al-hlaqa, ce format circulaire menacé qui, au centre de la pratique d’Al Assifa, leur permettait de réarticuler les troublantes complexités des histoires de famille de la diaspora. Elle comble ainsi non seulement le besoin actuel de raconter des histoires oubliées de résistance et de libération, mais recrée aussi par la même occasion de nouvelles oralités et, à travers elles, de nouveaux contes et mythes. Tout cela finit par constituer ce que Stuart Hall appelle des archives vivantes ou, dans ce cas, un album de famille vivant. À travers leur oralité performée, les histoires de famille racontées dans l'al-halqa demeurent dans un état de suspension permanent. Comme la diaspora elle-même, la forme animée de l’al-halqa est intrinsèquement instable, nomade et en mouvement perpétuel, fuyant dans différentes directions, à l’image de ces histoires et relations familiales qui ne se cristallisent jamais tout à fait, dépassant les limites scriptocentrées du monde écrit. Cela permet à Bouchra Khalili de préserver un espace pour la potentielle résurgence ou réémergence de souvenirs tus ou effacés, afin de refaire monde à partir du monde divisé que nous habitons aujourd’hui.  

Dans The Tempest Society, Bouchra Khalili invitait trois étudiant·e·s athénien·ne·s à convoquer le groupe Al Assifa à travers leur propre expérience diasporique du racisme et de la xénophobie, alternant leurs témoignages avec des lectures du manifeste d’Al Assifa Les Tiers-Idées (1997) et des extraits choisis du roman Je m’appelle Europe de Gazmend Kapllani. Dans sa proposition pour The Diasporic Schools, elle invite cette fois une nouvelle génération d’artistes et d’activistes maghrébin·e·s à lire des histoires de familles et de libération exhumées qui ont influencé leur passé et renferment une potentielle inspiration pour une résistance diasporique contemporaine, tout en faisant partie d’un nouvel album de famille. S’inspirant de Pier Paolo Passolini, Khalili appelle ces artistes et activistes à incarner la figuration du poète-civique comme hlayqi·a, les invitant à osciller entre citations historiques et récits personnels à travers un discours indirect libre dans une pièce intertextuelle, parlant à travers ces individus concernés et engagés, pour réassembler et rendre audible une voix collective familière. Il ne s’agit pas de donner une voix, mais de parler au plus près des absent·e·s ou de celles et ceux réduit·e·s au silence, pour témoigner des différentes façons dont on peut résister en permanence aux injustices historiques. Par le truchement d’un album de famille en devenir, qui permet de se libérer des restrictions purement représentatives que sont le temps et l’espace, se dessine un peuple à venir qui préfigure un monde à venir, où la composante diasporique serait a priori inscrite dans toutes les écoles, en souvenir de la lignée ancestrale de résistance qui a permis une vie libre et digne.    

Texte écrit par Joachim Ben Yakoub en octobre 2020, dans le cadre de The Diasporic Schools du Kunstenfestivaldesarts  

Bio

Bouchra Khalili est une artiste née au Maroc (1975, Casablanca) et basée à Berlin. Elle a étudié l'histoire du cinéma à la Sorbonne Nouvelle et les arts visuels à l'École Nationale Supérieure d'Arts de Paris. La pratique de Bouchra Khalili, qui englobe le cinéma, la vidéo, l'installation, la photographie, la gravure et l'édition, explore les continuums impériaux et coloniaux tels qu'ils sont incarnés par les migrations illégales et forcées contemporaines, ainsi que par les politiques de mémoire des luttes anticoloniales et de solidarité internationale. À l'intersection de l'histoire et des micro-narrations, son travail combine les stratégies documentaires et la pratique conceptuelle pour enquêter sur les questions de l'auto-représentation, de l'agentivité autonome et des formes de résistance des communautés opprimées. Profondément influencée par l'héritage des avant-gardes de la post-indépendance et les traditions vernaculaires de son Maroc natal, l'approche de Khalili combine des stratégies performatives de narration et l'ancienne tradition de la narration en Afrique du Nord pour développer des plateformes civiques pour les récits à la première personne, formant finalement des histoires collectives de résistance et d'émancipation. Le travail de Khalili a fait l'objet de nombreuses expositions personnelles, notamment au Museum of Fine Arts (Boston), au Museum Folkwang (Essen), au Jeu de Paume (Paris), au MAXXI Museum (Rome), au Museum of Modern Art (New York). Elle a également participé à plusieurs expositions internationales comme à la 12e Biennale de Bamako, la BienalSur (Buenos Aires), la documenta 14 (Kassel), la 55e Biennale de Venise, et bien d’autres. En tant qu'activiste culturelle, elle est co-fondatrice de la Cinémathèque de Tanger, le premier centre culturel du Nord du Maroc dédié à la préservation et à la promotion de la culture cinématographique dans la région.

Crédits

Présentation : Kunstenfestivaldesarts-Bouchra Khalili

Un projet de : Bouchra Khalili

Initié et coproduit par le Kunstenfestivaldesarts dans le cadre de The Diasporic Schools