Before, during and after the festival different groups of Brussels residents come together around the artistic programme to share their experiences and ideas with each other and the outside world. Together with a number of major partners, the festival supports these annual initiatives that are rooted in the city and reflect its cosmopolitan character.

The ⏩ Sessions

The ⏩ Sessions (read: The Forward Sessions) brings together a group of young Brussels residents, rooted in different networks of the city’s artistic creations. The group meets regularly throughout the year and for the three weeks of the festival, to watch particular performances. Each chosen production leads them to ask a specific question linked to art or society, which is then tackled as a group, starting from each person’s experience and reality.

Participants: Aminata Abdoulaye, Alhadi Adam Agabeldour, Karim Akalay, Omar Al Samarrai, Chems Eddine, Niels Coppens, Alex Deforce, Farbod Fathinejad, Liyo Gong, Sihame Haddioui, Sanae Jamai, Hyun Lories, Ilyas Mettioui, Hendrick Ntela, Anthony Nti, Lisette Ntukabumwe, Amina Saâdi, Milø Slayers, Ahlaam Teghadouini
Moderators: Daniel Blanga Gubbay, Bie Vancraeynest

#nofilter

After six years, the Chicago Project is now called #nofilter. Three youth organisations from different parts of Brussels come together to define a joint programme. The youngsters watch shows, meet the artists and discuss their expectations and experiences, camera in hand. Using the filmed material, they make video clips to share online. However, the lively discussions continue long after they’ve put their cameras away! The name #nofilter refers to the youngsters’ less inhibited and more direct approach of artists, compared to other audiences. It also refers to the intense impact of some performance, and to the authentic experience of having an enjoyable time together at the theatre! On the last Wednesday of the festival, the youngsters invite you to join them for a collective meal, and to discover their filmed reactions during the 2019 festival.

Public screening and collective iftar meal
Wednesday 29.05, 21:00
GC De Kriekelaar
Registration required: mhbnouha@gmail.com

Coordination: Oualid Akrouh, Chiraz Graja, Nouha Mhamdi
Videos: Badredine Oulad Haj Amar, El Ayadi Mourad
Moderator: Lars Kwakkenbos

In collaboration with: Chicago & VMJ-AJM youth centres (D’Broej), TransfoCollect
With the support of: Bernheim Foundation

TRACK

TRACK (before called Young Art Reporters) invites a group of young people (student reporters and artists or quite simply curious youngsters) to immerse themselves in the world of the festival and express their views on what they've experienced as members of the audience and guests behind the scenes. The young people are accompanied by a group of coaches in order to identify and master their preferred form of expression: interview, chronicle, poetry, drawing etc. All the contributions will be published in a collective webzine that the TRACKers will share with the audience at a presentation mid-way through the festival.

TRACK stands for Trajectory for Reporters, Artists and Curious youngsters at the Kunstenfestivaldesarts.

Public release of the webzine 
Sunday 19.05, 18:00
Festival Centre

By: young people from Brussels (16-22 years old)
Coaches: Lorent Corbeel, Leslie Doumerc, Daan Simons, Ali Talbi, Benjamin Thomas

Initiated by: De Veerman, Kunstenfestivaldesarts
In collaboration with: KAROO.me (Indications asbl)
Supported by: Evens Foundation
Thanks to: Ecole Active, Erasmushogeschool Brussel, GO! atheneum Anderlecht (Audio-visual education), Ihecs (Institut des Hautes Etudes des Communications sociales), Jeugd & Stad, Lycée Emile Max (Arts d’expression), Préparts, Université Libre de Bruxelles (Agrégation Information-Communication)

Producers' Academy 4

During three days, La Raffinerie becomes the headquarters of the Producers’ Academy. This workshop gathers young Belgian, European and international performing arts producers. Through the encounter with experts, and within a programme mixing workshops, case studies and round-table discussions, participants will be invited to question their own practice in international production and distribution. Producers’ Academy builds up a cultural network that focuses on mutual support and know-how sharing.

13–15.05, 09:00–18:00
La Raffinerie
Language: EN

Organised by: CIFAS (Centre International de Formation en Arts du Spectacle, Brussels)
In collaboration with: Kunstenfestivaldesarts, MoDul asbl, On the Move
With: producers, bookers, administration managers, tour managers, cultural entrepreneurs

More info: www.cifas.be

Avant, pendant et après le festival, plusieurs groupes de Bruxellois.e.s se rassemblent autour de la programmation artistique pour partager leurs idées, tant entre eux.elles que vers l’extérieur. Le festival, rejoint par plusieurs partenaires, soutient ces initiatives qui l’enracinent de façon profonde dans la ville et reflètent son caractère résolument urbain et cosmopolite.

The ⏩ Sessions

The  ⏩  Sessions (lire: The Forward Sessions) réunit un groupe d’habitant.e.s de Bruxelles qui entretiennent des liens avec la création artistique dans des réseaux différents. Le groupe se retrouve de façon régulière tout au long de l’année et pendant les trois semaines du festival afin d’assister à certains spectacles. Chaque production choisie les mène à poser une question spécifique en lien avec l’art ou la société, qui est abordée collectivement au départ de l’expérience et de la réalité de chacun.e.

Participant.e.s: Aminata Abdoulaye, Alhadi Adam Agabeldour, Karim Akalay, Omar Al Samarrai, Chems Eddine, Niels Coppens, Alex Deforce, Farbod Fathinejad, Liyo Gong, Sihame Haddioui, Sanae Jamai, Hyun Lories, Ilyas Mettioui, Hendrick Ntela, Anthony Nti, Lisette Ntukabumwe, Amina Saâdi, Milø Slayers, Ahlaam Teghadouini
Moderation: Daniel Blanga Gubbay, Bie Vancraeynest

#nofilter

Après six années, le Projet Chicago est rebaptisé #nofilter. Trois organisations de jeunesse bruxelloise de différents quartiers choisissent d'aller voir des spectacles du festival ensemble. Les jeunes assistent aux spectacles, rencontrent les artistes et discutent de leurs attentes et de leur vécu, caméra à la main. À partir des matériaux filmés, il.elle.s réalisent des clips vidéo à partager en ligne. Mais les discussions enflammées continuent encore bien longtemps après avoir rangé les caméras dans les sacs à dos ! Le nom #nofilter se réfère à la fraîcheur des jeunes, moins inhibés que d’autres publics dans leur approche aux artistes, à l’effet percutant de certains spectacles, ainsi que, plus simplement, à l’expérience authentique du bon temps passé ensemble au théâtre. Le dernier mercredi du festival, les jeunes vous invitent à les rejoindre pour un iftar et à découvrir leurs réactions filmées lors de l'édition 2019.

Vidéos #nofilter 2019 : 
- #1 Silke Huysmans & Hannes Dereere - Pleasant Island
#2 Alice Ripoll, Cia Suave - CRIA 
- #3 Anne Lise Le Gac & Arthur Chambry - DUCTUS MIDI

Projection publique et repas iftar collectif
Mercredi 29.05 — 21:00
GC De Kriekelaar
Inscription obligatoire : mhbnouha@gmail.com

Coordination : Oualid Akrouh, Chiraz Graja, Nouha Mhamdi
Vidéos : Badredine Oulad Haj Amar, El Ayadi Mourad
Modération : Lars Kwakkenbos

En collaboration avec : Chicago, VMJ-AJM centres jeunesse (D’Broej), TransfoCollect
Avec le soutien de : Fondation Bernheim

TRACK

TRACK (auparavant Young Art Reporters) invite un groupe de jeunes (apprenti.e.s reporters ou artistes ; ou curieux.se.s, tout simplement) à se plonger dans le monde du festival et à s'exprimer à propos de ce qu’ils y ont vécu, aussi bien en tant que spectateur.trice.s qu’en tant qu’invité.e.s dans les coulisses. Les jeunes se font accompagner par un groupe de coaches afin de trouver et de maîtriser leur forme d’expression préférée : interview, chronique, poésie, dessin, etc. Toutes les contributions sont publiées dans un webzine collectif, que les TRACKeur.euse.s partageront avec le public lors d’une présentation à mi-parcours du festival.

TRACK signifie Trajectory for Reporters, Artists and Curious youngsters at the Kunstenfestivaldesarts.

Webzine 2019

Lancement public du webzine
Dimanche 19.05 — 18:00
Centre du festival

TRACKeur.euse.s 2019 : Abigail Abubakar, Adeola Hawna, Audrey De Temmerman, Brigitta Skarpalezos, Elisabeth Röben , Emma Ladeuze, Hind De Decker, Liam Rees, Lisa Kaison, Lucie Yerlès, Lula Kodjabachian, Nelly Manet, Nour Verkindere, Zoé Hagen
Coaches : Lorent Corbeel, Leslie Doumerc, Daan Simons, Ali Talbi, Benjamin Thomas 

Initié par : De Veerman & Kunstenfestivaldesarts
En collaboration avec :  KAROO.me (Indications asbl)
Avec le soutien de : Evens Foundation
Merci à : École Active, Erasmushogeschool Brussel, GO! atheneum Anderlecht (Audio-visual education), Ihecs (Institut des Hautes Etudes des Communications sociales), Jeugd & Stad, Lycée Emile Max (Arts d’expression), Préparts, Université Libre de Bruxelles (Agrégation Information-Communication)

Producers' Academy 4

Durant trois jours, La Raffinerie devient le quartier général de la Producers’ Academy. Réflexion et partages d’expériences sur les collaborations artistiques internationales sont au menu. Dans ce workshop pour jeunes producteurs belges, européens et internationaux, les questions de la production et la diffusion des arts de la scène au niveau international seront placées au centre, à travers des rencontres avec plusieurs experts. Il s’agit ici d’un véritable réseau d'entraide, de partage de savoir-être et de savoir-faire, une boîte à outils mouvante qui est connectée aux réalités individuelles et collectives de la culture européenne.

13–15.05, 09:00–18:00
La Raffinerie
Langue: EN

Organisation : CIFAS (Centre International de Formation en Arts du Spectacle, Brussels)
En collaboration avec : Kunstenfestivaldesarts, MoDul asbl, On the Move
Pour et avec : les producteurs, les bookers, les gestionnaires administratifs, les gestionnaires de tournées, les entrepreneurs culturels

Plus d'infos : www.cifas.be