The Time We Share is a book that has been structured like a play, outlining the themes that have featured in the Kunstenfestivaldesarts over the past two decades.

Reflecting On and Through Performing Arts

The Time We Share is a book that examines a wide range of critical perspectives on two decades of performing arts. The authors look closely at performing arts pieces from around the world to see what critiques and insights they reveal about society. Among the topics that these works address are the dialogue between history and memory, the development of a sense of community, the interplay between fiction and reality, and the fine line between a spectator and a witness. In addition to images of the performances, the book includes texts by the artists themselves, sketches, photographs and writings by prominent figures in the fields of philosophy and sociology. In assembling these materials, this book attempts to build a global overview of the relationship between performing arts and society.

The Time We Share was published to coincide with the 20th edition of the Kunstenfestivaldesarts in 2015. Still, more than an instrument of memory, the book is conceived as an atlas through which the past opens itself towards the future, like every map that invites us to imagine journeys to come, while telling us the story of those who traced a route to accomplish its creation.

Published by Kunstenfestivaldesarts & Fonds Mercator / Mercatorfonds
On the occasion of the twentieth edition of the Kunstenfestivaldesarts in May 2015
Edited by Daniel Blanga-Gubbay & Lars Kwakkenbos
With contributions by Brett Bailey, Jérôme Bel, Romeo Castellucci, Boris Charmatz, Pieter De Buysser, Tim Etchells, William Forsythe, Heiner Goebbels, Edit Kaldor, William Kentridge, Amir Reza Koohestani, Maurizio Lazzarato, André Lepecki, Thomas Madden, Christoph Marthaler, Chantal Mouffe, Reza Negarestani, Mariano Pensotti, Dan Perjovschi, René Pollesch, Walid Raad, Milo Rau, Claude Régy, Rimini Protokoll, Suely Rolnik, Walid Sadek, Árpád Schilling, Christoph Schlingensief, Gerald Siegmund, Isabelle Stengers, Pieter T’Jonck, Benjamin Verdonck, et al
Graphic design Casier/Fieuws

Buy online

You can buy The Time We Share online on the Mercatorfonds website.

The Time We Share (Le temps que nous partageons) est un livre conçu selon la dramaturgie d’un spectacle. L’ouvrage dessine les contours de thématiques qui ont traversé le Kunstenfestivaldesarts durant les deux dernières décennies.

Réflexions à travers le spectacle vivant

The Time We Share (Le temps que nous partageons) ouvre un large éventail de perspectives critiques sur les arts du spectacle vivant de ces vingt dernières années. Les auteurs y observent des uvres scéniques créées aux quatre coins du monde, pour laisser surgir les réflexions qu’elles ont émises, ou émettent encore aujourd’hui, à l’égard de notre société. Parmi les questions soulevées par ces uvres, figurent le dialogue entre l’histoire et la mémoire, l’évolution de l’idée de communauté, l’interaction entre la fiction et la réalité, et la ligne ténue qui sépare le spectateur du témoin. Outre des contributions d’auteurs éminents dans le domaine des arts vivants, de la philosophie et de la sociologie, ce livre contient des écrits d’artistes, des esquisses et de nombreuses photographies, offrant ainsi une vue d’ensemble de la relation entre la société et les arts du spectacle vivant.

La parution de The Time We Share coïncide avec la 20e édition du Kunstenfestivaldesarts en 2015. Plus qu’un outil de mémoire, ce livre est conçu comme un atlas à travers lequel le passé s’ouvre à l’avenir. Il est comparable à une carte qui, tout en nous racontant les histoires de ceux qui ont tracé un chemin pour accomplir leurs créations, invite à imaginer des voyages futurs.

Publié par le Kunstenfestivaldesarts & Mercatorfonds
À l’occasion de la vingtième édition du Kunstenfestivaldesarts en mai 2015
Edité par Daniel Blanga-Gubbay & Lars Kwakkenbos
Avec les contributions de Brett Bailey, Jérôme Bel, Romeo Castellucci, Boris Charmatz, Pieter De Buysser, Tim Etchells, William Forsythe, Heiner Goebbels, Edit Kaldor, William Kentridge, Amir Reza Koohestani, Maurizio Lazzarato, André Lepecki, Thomas Madden, Christoph Marthaler, Chantal Mouffe, Reza Negarestani, Mariano Pensotti, Dan Perjovschi, René Pollesch, Walid Raad, Milo Rau, Claude Régy, Rimini Protokoll, Suely Rolnik, Walid Sadek, Árpád Schilling, Christoph Schlingensief, Gerald Siegmund, Isabelle Stengers, Pieter T’Jonck, Benjamin Verdonck, e.a.
Conception graphique Casier/Fieuws

Achetez le livre

Vous pouvez acheter The Time We Share en ligne, sur le site web du Fonds Mercator.