Le Capital et son Singe

Théâtre National

2h 30min
FR > NL

14/05 – 20:15
15/05 – 20:15
16/05 – 20:15

Constructing the form of a human meeting for the stage, the “à table” theatre of Sylvain Creuzevault is a theatre of words and opinions. Based on a practice combining collective development, improvisation and writing for the stage, his erudite and yet remarkably lively shows question those moments when History is made from men and women gathering together. His latest creation, Le Capital and son Singe, loosely based on Das Kapital by Karl Marx, immerses the audience in fiery discussions between French revolutionaries in 1848. With a mix of playful enjoyment, political anger and being good-naturedly relaxed, the fourteen brilliant perform historical facts and characters. With a disarming naturalness they founder in a debate on capitalism, the value system and the place of the worker, a continent of activist thought of which we are the distant heirs. Theatre as a model of democracy in action!

Based on
Das Kapital by Karl Marx

Directed by
Sylvain Creuzevault

Performed by
Vincent Arot, Benoit Carré, Antoine Cegarra, Pierre Devérines, Lionel Dray, Arthur Igual, Léo-Antonin Lutinier, Frédéric Noaille, Amandine Pudlo, Sylvain Sounier, Anne-Laure Tondu, Julien Villa, Noémie Zurletti

Lighting
Vyara Stefanova, Nathalie Perrier

Set design
Julia Kravtsova

Costumes
Pauline Kieffer, Camille Pénager

Masks
Loïc Nébréda

Stage manager
Michael Schaller

Tour administration
Edouard Chapot

Production & distribution
Élodie Régibier

Presentation
Kunstenfestivaldesarts, Théâtre National de la Communauté française

Production
Le Singe

Co-production
Kunstenfestivaldesarts, Théâtre National de la Communauté française (Brussels),

Théâtre national de Bordeaux en Aquitaine, Nouveau Théâtre d’Angers, Théâtre national de la Colline (Paris), Festival d’Automne à Paris, Comédie de Valence, La Criée – Théâtre national de Marseille, Le Parvis – Scène Nationale Tarbes-Pyrénées, Printemps des comédiens (Montpellier), MC2 (Grenoble), La Filature – Scène nationale (Mulhouse), Théâtre de l’Archipel – Scène Nationale de Perpignan, Le Cratère – Scène nationale d’Alès, Grec 2014. Festival de Barcelona

In collaboration with
Théâtre Garonne (Toulouse), Théâtre national de Toulouse Midi-Pyrénées

Supported by
Direction générale de la creation artistique du Ministère de la Culture et de la Communication

Performance in Brussels supported by
Institut français

This project is co-produced by
NXTSTP, with the support of the Culture Programme of the European Union

Back to top

Le Capital et son Singe

The subject of our farce is the progressive social alienation brought about by the capitalist mode of production and commercial society. Its starting point is at the crossroads of the political revolution of the late 18th century and the great industrial revolution of the 19th century. Three works by Karl Marx provide its stimulus: two political works, The Class Struggles in France and The Eighteenth Brumaire of Louis-Napoléon Bonaparte, and obviously Das Kapital, volume 1, a critique of the political economy. We want to show the tension caused by two great concepts developed by Marx, you could almost say by two stories: the famous story of class struggles, where dividing lines run through society and group individuals according to specific interests, and the mysterious story of the cult nature of commodities or how producers subject themselves to their own products. Two stories that are linked by the place of their creation: the belly of the capitalist mode of production.

The transition of 1848
It is 13 May 1848 in Rue Transnonain, Paris in the Society of the Friends of the People which was started by Vincent-François Raspail after the February Revolution. The characters are returning from the first demonstration organised since the 4 May meeting of the new French constituent assembly elected by direct universal male suffrage on 23 April, which has proclaimed the Second Republic. It is the first time in the history of social forms that nine million men have been invited to vote – until that point, elections of the legislative body in France were arranged by taxable quota, a taxation threshold on which the right to vote and the eligibility of citizens were based. Since February and the overthrow of the July Monarchy of Louis-Philippe, Parisians having been ensuring that the revolutionary movement continues, with the social issue of work suddenly cropping up in politics. This scene takes place before the social rift that turned into civil war in the streets of Paris in June.

The transition of 1919
This scene takes place after the social rift that turned into civil war in the streets of Berlin in January. It is 13 June 1919 in Berlin, during the marriage of Karl and Johanna. Outside, a funeral cortege passes through the streets in homage to Rosa Luxemburg. The head of the revolutionary party had been missing since the January riots and her body has just been found in the Landwehrkanal. Being confronted with these facts disrupts the celebration, and the marriage ceremony is being haunted so much by recent events in Germany that it seems impossible. Will it ever take place? Since the revolution in November 1918 and the proclamation of the republic, this is the night on which Germany, governed by social democracy, awaits the Weimar Constitution and the Treaty of Versailles that will decide its fate.

The political trials in Bourges and elsewhere
The final scene opens on the political trials of leading figures in 1848 and 1919, inspired by their transcripts. The script breaks the historical continuum by moving from one era to the next, with masks on and off. Marx: “Hegel remarks somewhere that all facts and personages of great importance in world history occur, as it were, twice.” He forgot to add: “the first time as tragedy, the second time as farce.”

Back to top

Le Capital et son Singe

Théâtre National

2h 30min
FR > NL

14/05 – 20:15
15/05 – 20:15
16/05 – 20:15

Érigeant la forme de la réunion humaine en forme scénique, le théâtre « à table » de Sylvain Creuzevault est un théâtre de la parole et de la prise de parole. Fondés sur une pratique associant élaboration collective, improvisation et écriture au plateau, ses spectacles érudits et pourtant singulièrement vifs questionnent ces moments où l’Histoire nait d’une assemblée d’hommes et de femmes. Sa dernière création, Le Capital et son Singe, librement inspirée du Capital de Karl Marx, plonge le public au centre de discussions enflammées entre les révolutionnaires français de 1848. Avec un mélange de plaisir ludique, de hargne politique et de décontraction bon enfant, les quatorze acteurs virtuoses s’appuient sur des faits et des personnages historiques pour s’abîmer avec un naturel désarmant dans un débat sur le capitalisme, le système de la valeur et la place du travailleur, un continent de pensée militante dont nous sommes les lointains héritiers. Le théâtre comme modèle de démocratie en action !

À partir du texte
Le Capital de Karl Marx

Mis en scène par
Sylvain Creuzevault

Interprété par
Vincent Arot, Benoit Carré, Antoine Cegarra, Pierre Devérines, Lionel Dray, Arthur Igual, Léo-Antonin Lutinier, Frédéric Noaille, Amandine Pudlo, Sylvain Sounier, Anne-Laure Tondu, Julien Villa, Noémie Zurletti

Lumière
Vyara Stefanova, Nathalie Perrier

Scénographie
Julia Kravtsova

Costumes
Pauline Kieffer, Camille Pénager

Masques
Loïc Nébréda

Régie générale
Michael Schaller

Administration de tournée
Edouard Chapot

Production & diffusion
Élodie Régibier

Presentation
Kunstenfestivaldesarts, Théâtre National de la Communauté française

Production
Le Singe

Coproduction
Kunstenfestivaldesarts, Théâtre National de la Communauté française (Bruxelles), Théâtre national de Bordeaux en Aquitaine, Nouveau Théâtre d’Angers, Théâtre national de la Colline (Paris), Festival d’Automne à Paris, Comédie de Valence, La Criée – Théâtre national de Marseille, Le Parvis – Scène Nationale Tarbes-Pyrénées, Printemps des comédiens (Montpellier), MC2 (Grenoble), La Filature – Scène nationale (Mulhouse), Théâtre de l’Archipel – Scène Nationale de Perpignan, Le Cratère – Scène nationale d’Alès, Grec 2014. Festival de Barcelona

En collaboration avec
Théâtre Garonne (Toulouse), Théâtre national de Toulouse Midi-Pyrénées

Avec le soutien de
Direction générale de la création artistique du Ministère de la Culture et de la Communication

Représentation à Bruxelles avec le soutien de
Institut français

Projet coproduit par
NXTSTP, avec le soutien du Programme Culture de l’Union Européenne

Back to top

Le Capital et son Singe

Notre pièce a pour objet de farce les progrès de l’aliénation sociale obtenus par le mode de production capitaliste, sa société marchande. Son point de départ est à la croisée de la révolution politique de la fin du XVIIIe siècle et de la grande révolution industrielle du XIXe. Trois œuvres de Karl Marx nous servent d’aiguillons, deux textes politiques, Les Luttes de classes en France, Le 18 Brumaire de Louis-Napoléon Bonaparte, et évidemment Le Capital, tome 1, critique de l’économie politique. Notre volonté est de faire apparaître l’arc de tension surgissant de deux grands concepts développés par Marx, nous pourrions dire deux histoires : histoire célèbre des luttes de classes, où des lignes de partage traversent la société et séparent les individus en corps, en groupes, selon des intérêts propres ; et histoire mystérieuse du caractère fétiche de la marchandise, ou comment les producteurs se soumettent à leurs propres productions. Deux histoires liées entre elles par leur lieu de naissance : le ventre du mode de production capitaliste.

Le passage 1848
Nous sommes le 13 mai 1848 à Paris, rue Transnonain, dans le Club des Amis du Peuple, ouvert par Vincent-François Raspail après la Révolution de février. Les personnages reviennent de la première manifestation organisée depuis la réunion, le 4 mai, de la nouvelle assemblée constituante française, élue au suffrage universel (masculin) direct, le 23 avril précédent, et proclamant la deuxième République. C’est la première fois dans l’histoire des formes sociales que 9 millions d’hommes sont appelés à un scrutin de liste – jusque-là en France, les élections du corps législatif étaient organisées au cens, un seuil d’imposition qui conditionne le droit de vote et l’éligibilité des citoyens. Depuis février et le renversement de la Monarchie de Juillet de Louis-Philippe, le peuple parisien veille à ne pas se voir confisquer le mouvement révolutionnaire au cours duquel la question sociale du travail a surgi dans la sphère politique. La scène se tient avant le déchirement social qui trouvera sa forme dans la guerre civile en juin dans les rues de Paris.

Le passage 1919
La scène se tient après le déchirement social qui a trouvé sa forme dans la guerre civile en janvier dans les rues de Berlin. Nous sommes le 13 juin 1919 à Berlin, pendant les noces de Karl et Johanna. Dehors, un cortège funèbre défile dans les rues en hommage à Rosa Luxembourg. La chef du parti révolutionnaire avait disparu depuis les émeutes de janvier, son corps vient d’être retrouvé dans le Landwehrkanal. Cette remémoration trouble la fête et les noces sont à ce point hantées par le passé récent de l’Allemagne qu’elles sont rendues comme impossibles, auront-elles jamais lieu ? Depuis la Révolution de novembre 1918 et la proclamation de la République, l’Allemagne, gouvernée par la social-démocratie, est, au soir de notre situation, en attente de la constitution de Weimar et du traité de Versailles qui décidera de son sort.

Les procès politiques de Bourges et d’ailleurs
La scène finale s’ouvre sur les procès politiques des figures marquantes de 1848 et de 1919, en s’inspirant de leurs déroulements minute par minute. Puis l’écriture fracture le continuum historique en passant d’une époque à l’autre, en faisant aller et venir les masques. Marx : « Hegel fait quelque part cette remarque que tous les grands événements et personnages historiques se répètent pour ainsi dire deux fois. » Il a oublié d’ajouter : « la première fois comme tragédie, la seconde fois comme farce. »

Back to top